DeKalb County Commissioner Larry Johnson was recently elected to the 2020-2021 Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG or Georgia’s County Association) Board of Managers as a representative for the National Association of Counties (NACo). Johnson, the current Second Vice President of NACo, currently oversees 3,069 counties, 3.5 Million employees and 300 Million constituents will now serve as a liaison between the state and national county associations. He will work with DeKalb County Commissioner Jeff Rader and Lamar County Commissioner Nancy Thrash who also serve as NACo Representatives for ACCG.

“The 2020-2021 ACCG Board of Managers represents the collective strength of Georgia’s local communities,” said Executive Director Dave Wills. “Now, more than ever, we have witnessed the significance of leadership at the local level. I congratulate and look forward to working with our newly installed Board of Managers as we continue our efforts to serve all 159 counties throughout the state.”

“I consider it an honor to serve in this capacity.  Being appointed to serve in roles at the local, state and national levels within government allows me to really be the voice for the people, provide continuity and drive change.  I thank all that have entrusted me with this responsibility”, Commissioner Larry Johnson.

The Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) is Georgia’s county association and works on behalf of county officials and their communities by providing public policy and legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement initiatives, insurance and retirement programs that specialize in local government needs and other cost-saving programs.  Formed in 1914 when county officials came together to help fund the state’s first highway department, ACCG today serves as a catalyst for advancing Georgia’s counties.  For more information, go to